TANA Honored During AANA Annual Congress

During the recent AANA Annual Congress, TANA was inducted as a Magna Cum Laude member of the Gertrude Fife Society for significant cumulative cash contributions to the AANA Foundation since the society’s inception in 2006. TANA is just the 12th state association inducted into the society since it was established!

Gertrude FifeGertrude Fife was one of the nurse anesthesia profession’s earliest pioneers. She served as the association’s second president from 1933-1935, when the AANA was still known as the National Association of Nurse Anesthetists (NANA). She gave tirelessly as the association’s treasurer for 15 years and journal editor for 12, and from 1934-1946 she served as director of the Lakeside School of Anesthesia in Cleveland, Ohio, where the NANA had been established in 1931. Later, Fife was recognized with the AANA Award of Appreciation in 1950 and the Agatha Hodgins Award, AANA’s highest honor, in 1978. 

The Gertrude Fife Society was inaugurated at the AANA Foundation’s 2006 Friends for Life and Recognition dinner to honor individuals, businesses, and state associations for their contributions to the Foundation.  The Magna Cum Laude level for which TANA was honored indicates cumulative contributions over $100,000. The Foundation uses donations from state associations and members to fund initiatives focused on education and research for nurse anesthesia.

All TANA members can take great pride in this collective achievement. “The generosity and philanthropic spirit of TANA members is clearly reflected in our ongoing desire to pay forward what this amazing profession has given to us all,” said TANA President Brad Koss, DNAP, CRNA, APN. “Thank you!”

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top